Scholastic Canada | Dear Canada - Make History Your Own

Dear Canada: A step back in time


Read a letter from the author

Jan Andrews

Ask Jan Andrews why she is a writer and a storyteller, she will tell you it is because she believes stories, told and written, support us through all our living by giving us things to keep alive in our hearts. Readers and listeners must agree. Her books have been shortlisted for the Governor General's Literary Award, the Ruth Schwartz Award, the Manitoba Young Readers' Choice Award and the Red Cedar Book Award, and are included in the International Youth Library. Her storytelling is known across the land. Her picture book, Very Last First Time, has become a classic. Folktale collections such as Rude Stories and When Apples Grew Noses and White Horses Flew: Tales of Ti-Jean have garnered rave reviews.

An avid outdoor person, Jan brought all her experience of the joys and struggles of being in cold, wet, windy places to her creation of Winter of Peril. She grew to love her heroine, Sophie, partly because Sophie shares in Jan's English heritage, but mostly because Sophie finds ways to ever increase her courage, determination and consideration for those around.

Dear Canada books by Jan Andrews:

  • Winter of Peril


A writer friend once told me: "We have to know our stories. The stories tell us who we are, what we face and how we will face it." For me, that is what the Dear Canada series is all about: us knowing ourselves as Canadians so we can carry a sense of ourselves on into everything we do.

The series has been such a success too. Everywhere I go, I see eyes light up at the very mention of the words, Dear Canada. I meet readers who cannot wait to get the next volume and the next. Being part of all this is quite simply a privilege to be danced about with and enjoyed.